

17 JUN 2021

UIPM ATHLETES COMMITTEE AND COACHES COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES REVEALED



- All six UIPM continents represented on both committees
- Successful candidates to serve from 2022 to 2024
- Election winners congratulated as tributes paid to outgoing Aya Medany OLY

Six coaches and seven athletes from across six continents have been elected by their peers to represent them on the UIPM Coaches Committee and UIPM Athletes Committee.

Elections to both committees took place in Cairo (EGY) during the UIPM 2021 Pentathlon and Laser Run World Championships and the successful candidates will serve from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2024.

All six UIPM continents (Africa, Asia, Europe, NORCECA, Oceania and South America) are represented on each committee, with Natalya Coyle (Ireland) taking the additional world spot on the Athletes Committee.

The new committees will be composed as follows:

UIPM Athletes Committee

- Africa Yasser Hefny (Egypt)
- Asia Sheng Hung Liu (Chinese Taipei)
- Europe James Cooke (Great Britain)
- NORCECA Sophia Hernandez (Guatemala)
- Oceania Rebecca Jamieson (New Zealand)*
- South America Pamela Zapata (Argentina)

World – Natalya Coyle (Ireland)



From left to right: Pamela Zapata (ARG), Natalya Coyle (IRL) and Yasser Hefny (EGY)



Clockwise from top left: Rebecca Jamieson (NZL), James Cooke (GBR), Sheng Hung Liu (TPE), and Sophia Hernandez (GUA)

UIPM Coaches Committee

- Africa Raouf Mahrous (Egypt)
- Asia Zhongrong Cao (China)
- Europe Christian Roudaut (France)
- NORCECA Genadijus Sokolovas (USA)
- Oceania Dean Gleeson (Australia)*

South America – Guillermo Filipi (Argentina)

* Oceania representatives elected by continental peers outwith main election



Clockwise from top left: Genadijus Sokolovas (USA), Dean Gleeson (AUS), Guillermo Filipi (ARG), Christian Roudaut (FRA), Raouf Mahrous (EGY), and Zhongrong Cao (CHN)

The current UIPM Coaches Committee Chair, Christian Roudaut (FRA), retains his place but UIPM Athletes Committee Chair Aya Medany OLY, who recently took up a role as a Member of the Egyptian Parliament, did not stand for re-election.

UIPM President Dr Klaus Schormann said: "Congratulations to all elected athletes and coaches. I'm sure the newcomers will provide fresh input and represent our worldwide communities of athletes and coaches in a fair and open way, in strong solidarity for the benefit of Modern Pentathlon and our sport for all movement.

"All members of the UIPM Athletes Committee and UIPM Coaches Committee can be assured of my full support."

UIPM Secretary General Shiny Fang said: "We have five new Athletes Committee members out of seven and four new Coaching Committee members out of six. We fully believe these two committees will make the difference with their input and efforts together with all other UIPM stakeholders.

"The opportunity and power are in their hands, and we are confident their work will be very valuable."

Aya Medany OLY, who is also a Member of the International Olympic Committee Athletes Commission, said: "I would like to congratulate the new members of the UIPM Athletes Committee on their election and wish them all the best – and I will be available if they need any support or help to maintain the continuity of this important forum."

Visit the UIPM website to find out more about all active UIPM Commissions and Committees.