Skip to main content

Frankfurt (GER) hosts first-ever joint UIPM Committees meeting


A large group of Modern Pentathlon’s most recognisable figures gathered in Frankfurt (GER) on January 20-21 for the first-ever joint meeting of the UIPM Athletes’ Committee, Coaches Committee and Technical Committee.

The Athletes’ Committee is headed by three-time Olympic pentathlete Aya Medany (EGY) and comprises other experienced athletes including the current women’s Olympic champion, Chloe Esposito (AUS).

Athletes joined counterparts from the Coaches Committee, chaired by Christian Roudaut (FRA), and the 13 members of the Technical Committee, chaired by 1976 Olympic champion Janusz Peciak (POL).

The meeting was also attended by UIPM President Dr Klaus Schormann, Secretary General Shiny Fang and the Executive Board Member for Development, Viacheslav Malishev (GEO).

The two-day summit included individual committee meetings, each with their own agenda and a common agenda set by the Secretary General, culminating in a mass meeting where the group aligned actions and procedures.

UIPM President Dr Klaus Schormann said: “It was very useful to bring three UIPM Committees together to have a wider discussion on important matters relating to our sporting movement.

“These three committees perform an important duty: to make sure the voices of the athletes, coaches and technical delegates in our global UIPM community are heard.”

For more information on the UIPM Committees and Commissions please visit the UIPM website.

Upcoming events