Skip to main content

UIPM 2024 Pentathlon Junior World Championships: Men’s Qualification

Modern Pentathlon

World records tumbled like confetti on a tremendous Thursday that will live long in the memory as Men’s Qualification action lit up the third day of the 2024 Pentathlon Junior World Championships. 


With a whopping field of 87 of the best young male pentathletes gathering in Alexandria (EGY), there was a sense that things could get exciting early and often. But even the highest expectations couldn’t have foreseen some of the heroics turned in as the field was whittled down to 36 for Saturday’s Men’s Final. 


The Obstacle world record was the first to fall and, remarkably, it happened twice. Moustafa Abouamer of Egypt sent the home fans into delight when he blitzed through the course in a stunning 00:24.97, leading Qualification Group B by a distance. However Abouamer’s historic time had barely been written into the record books when Kian O’Boyle of the USA, an Obstacle specialist, proved his prowess with a blistering 00:24.33 to set the new mark for the sport. 


As if all that wasn’t enough there was a moment of arguably even more impressive history in the Swimming discipline. Matteo Bovenzi of Italy, already a trailblazer in the pool at Junior level, went one better when he broke not only his own Junior record but the Senior record too with an astonishing swim. Bovenzi’s time of 01:49.13 smashed a record which has stood for over 13 years since Jamie Cooke of Great Britain set it in 2011. 


Amid all this excitement there was plenty of compelling Qualification action with current Senior World No.5 Moutaz Mohamed (EGY) part of a three-pronged pack of leaders in Group A, with Mazen Shaban (EGY) and Uladzislau Melkaziorau (AIN). Underlining the global spread of talent, that first grouping produced 12 qualifiers who represented nine nations and four continents. 


In the day’s second group of 29, there was again a three-way atop the leaderboard with Dmytro Khudenko of Ukraine,  Abouamer (EGY) and Jonas Kalaminskas of Lithuania all racking up 1472 points. 


Group C wrapped up an unforgettable day on a fitting note with Bovenzi among a talented group at the head of affairs including Ziu Zhenfeng of China and three others on 1457 points. Meanwhile reigning world Under 19 champion Etienne Clergeau of France made an impressive step up to Under 22 level as he qualified comfortably with Juan Ochoa of Guatemala also progressing to ensure five continents will be represented among the 36 contenders on Super Saturday. 


The UIPM 2024 Pentathlon Junior World Championships is available to subscribers on UIPM.TV where annual packages cost €14.99.


Visit the UIPM website or download UIPM Central from your app store to keep track of live results. Follow World Pentathlon on FacebookInstagramTikTokX or YouTube for additional content.


The UIPM 2024 Pentathlon Junior World Championships runs from June 25-30, based on the following schedule (UIPM TV live coverage times in Central European Summer Time).

Friday, June 28 | Women’s & Men’s Fencing Ranking Round

Saturday, June 29 | Women’s Final (1pm) | Men’s Final (5pm)

Sunday, June 30 | Mixed Relay (5pm)


The 36 qualified athletes for the Men's Final are:

Rank  Name Nation  Points
1  KHUDENKO Dmytro  UKR  1472 
2  KALAMINSKAS Jonas  LTU  1472 
3  ABOUAMER Moustafa  EGY  1472 
4  SABDENBEK Temirhan  KAZ  1460 
5  SYCH Danylo  UKR  1459 
6  HULME James  GBR  1459 
7  CHATELLIER Cedric  FRA  1458 
8  LIU Zhenfeng  CHN  1457 
9  PRYTKOU Ivan  AIN  1457 
10  DOKUCHAEV Grigory  AIN  1457 
11  BOVENZI Matteo  ITA  1457 
12  SHERIF Mohamed  EGY  1457 
13  CLERGEAU Etienne  FRA  1456 
14  RIEGER Miklos  GER  1456 
15  BOBROV Andrey  AIN  1453 
16  TAMAS Botond  HUN  1453 
17  PARK Minseong  KOR  1453 
18  MARSCHALL Attila  HUN  1453 
19  JEVENSAPER Danielius  LTU  1452 
20  POPOV Roman  UKR  1452 
21  KLINKERT Moriz  GER  1450 
22  MELKAZIORAU Uladzislau  AIN  1448 
23  SHABAN Mazen  EGY  1448 
24  MOHAMED Moutaz  EGY  1448 
25  CSAK Milan  HUN  1447 
26  LEH Tim  GER  1446 
27  LAVILLAT Diego  FRA  1446 
28  KLIMEK Maciej  POL  1446 
29  ACIOLY Joao Victor  BRA  1445 
30  OCHOA Juan  GUA  1445 
31  LEE Hwanhee  KOR  1443 
32  LI Yuzhe  CHN  1443 
33  ZHARTUN Uladzislau  AIN  1442 
34  LEMKEN Christoph  GER  1442 
35  SECHIDIS Filippos GRE 1437
36  AGAVRILOAIE Denis  ITA 1436 

Upcoming events