Skip to main content

UIPM Awards 2016: list of winners and criteria


UIPM Awards 2016: list of winners and criteria

The achievements of the world’s leading senior and junior pentathletes, the best team, the best coach, competition organisers were recognised in the UIPM Annual Awards for 2016, handed out at the 68th UIPM Congress in December 2016 in Frankfurt (GER).

The following awards were distributed based entirely on the criteria of points gained from results in UIPM competitions during the calendar year and the Rio 2016 Olympic Games:

· Best Senior Athlete (Female and Male)
· Best Junior Athlete (Female and Male)
· Best Modern Pentathlon Team

The competition formats used as a basis for the criteria were as follows:

· Individual: Senior, Youth and Junior at UIPM competitions; Olympic Games
· Team Relay: Senior, Youth and Junior at UIPM competitions

As an example, the award for Best Modern Pentathlon Team was won by Russia based on the following aggregate points scores:

1. Russia (1746 points)
2. Korea (1562)
3. Italy (1529)
4. Hungary (1512)
5. Germany (1309)
6. Belarus (1266)
7. Great Britain (1194)
8. Egypt (1133)
9. France (1057)
10. Poland (764)

Full list of winners of UIPM Annual Awards for 2016 :

• Best Senior Female Athlete: Lena Schoeneborn (GER)
• Best Senior Male Athlete: Alexander Lesun (RUS)
• Best Junior Female Athlete: Kim Sunwoo (KOR)
• Best Junior Male Athlete: Charles Fernandez (GUA)
• Best Modern Pentathlon Team: Russia
• Best Coach: Daniel Esposito (AUS)
• Best Contribution: Absolute Fencing
• Fair Play: All the male athletes who competed in the 2016 Champion of Champions
• Best Competition Organiser: Russia (Senior World Championships, Moscow)
• Best Promoted Competition: Qatar (Champion of Champions, Doha)
• Best Overall Competition: Brazil (Rio 2016 Olympic Games)

Upcoming events

Modern Pentathlon