Skip to main content

UIPM 2023 Pentathlon Junior World Championships: Men’s Qualification

Modern Pentathlon

The UIPM 2023 Pentathlon Junior World Championships continued today with athletes taking part in the Men’s Individual Qualification in Druskininkai (LTU).

The 18 best performers in each of two qualification groups earned passage to the Men’s Final. With 1,461 points Minseok Park of Korea won the first group by 2sec points from the quartet of Lithuania duo Jonas Kalaminskas and Paulius Vagnorius, Charles Brown of Great Britain and Lukasz Zawada of Poland.

The second group was won by four athletes who crossed the line together – Juan Ochoa of Guatemala, Tim Leh of Germany, Vladyslav Chekan of Ukraine and Jeongwook Son (KOR) with 1,474 points.

There were two notable absentees from the Final line-up as senior world No.13 Mohamed Elgendy and world No.35 Moutaz Mohamed of Egypt suffered elimination in the Obstacle discipline.

It was another landmark day as many of the Under 22 competitors were taking part in a global individual Pentathlon competition for the first time, following the sequence of Fencing, Obstacle, Swimming and Laser Run. Pentathlon newcomer Kian O’Boyle of United States was the standout performer in Obstacle with a time of exactly 25sec – more than 3sec quicker than second-fastest Lukasz Zawada (POL).

The UIPM 2023 Pentathlon Junior World Championships runs from September 12-17, continuing on Friday, September 15 with the Fencing Ranking Round. The Individual Finals follow on Saturday September 16 before the Mixed Relay closes the competition on Sunday September 17.

The Finals and Mixed Relay can be watched live on UIPM TV where annual subscriptions cost €14.99. This is the first time a Modern Pentathlon competition with the integrated Obstacle discipline will be broadcast live.

Visit the UIPM website or download UIPM Central from your app store to keep track of live results. Follow World Pentathlon on FacebookInstagramTikTok or X for additional content.

The 36 athletes who qualified for the Men's Individual Final are:

Rank Name Nation MP Points
1 OCHOA Juan GUA 1474
2 LEH Tim GER 1474
3 CHEKAN Vladyslav UKR 1474
4 SON Jeongwook KOR 1474
5 IBRAHIM Mohamed EGY 1473
6 NARANJO Bayardo ECU 1471
7 MICHELI Giorgio ITA 1471
8 ROCHAT Mathis FRA 1469
9 HULME James GBR 1469
10 BORIES Leo FRA 1468
11 GAUDIESIUS Lukas LTU 1468
12 COBB Sam GBR 1468
13 POPOV Roman UKR 1466
14 KIM Hanseong KOR 1464
15 BOVENZI Matteo ITA 1463
16 PARK Minseok KOR 1461
17 RIEGER Miklos GER 1460
19 VAGNORIUS Paulius LTU 1459
20 BROWN Charles GBR 1459
21 ZAWADA Lukasz POL 1459
22 KLINKERT Moriz GER 1458
23 LEMKEN Christoph GER 1458
24 TOMAN Jan CZE 1458
25 SHABAN Mazen EGY 1457
26 PERRIER Melvin FRA 1457
27 CHARLTON Ross GBR 1457
28 KLIMEK Maciej POL 1457
29 MAIRE Emilien FRA 1457
30 TARKANYI Zsombor HUN 1455
31 CHOW Connor CAN 1455
32 KHUDENKO Dmytro UKR 1453
34 PARIZEK Tobias CZE 1450
35 SYCH Danylo UKR 1448
36 ARMIJOS ESPINOZA Mateo Alejandro ECU 1424

Upcoming events