Skip to main content

UIPM Executive Board extends mandate of Secretary General Shiny Fang and awards 2025-26 competitions

  • Leader of UIPM administration backed to continue through LA28 cycle
  • Competitions awarded to Bulgaria, Egypt, Hungary, Lithuania, South Africa and Türkiye
  • Samuel Curry (GBR) wins global vote for election to UIPM Athletes Committee

The Executive Board (EB) of the Union Internationale de Pentathlon Moderne (UIPM) has voted to extend the mandate of Shiny Fang as UIPM Secretary General until the end of 2028.

The EB made the unanimous decision during a two-day meeting in Zhengzhou (CHN) during the UIPM 2024 Pentathlon and Laser Run World Championships.

Shiny Fang has managed UIPM Headquarters and led the administrative team as Secretary General since the end of 2012. Her extended mandate encompasses the Los Angeles 2028 (LA28) Olympic cycle, in which a transformed Modern Pentathlon with a new Obstacle discipline will be introduced to the world.

UIPM President Dr Klaus Schormann stated: “The UIPM Executive Board, during its meeting at the World Championships in Zhengzhou, extended the contract for Secretary General Shiny Fang to the end of the 2028 cycle, based on her professional work since 2012. It is important to secure good governance for the future of UIPM, to have a consistent structure.”

UIPM Secretary General Shiny Fang commented: “The past 12 years were very tough and rough, but worthwhile and indeed totally unforgettable! I believe this mandate extension is not only for me, but also for the whole staff team behind me… we have overcome a lot together with many stakeholders, achieved a lot and created a lot, while we still had to compromise and balance whenever necessary.

“We learned the hard facts that the sport faced, and the organisation was requested to improve, and there is never an easy solution for that fundamental challenge. But by working together we always find a way.

“My appreciation goes to the entire Executive Board for their unconditional trust led by President Dr Klaus Schormann, I was also touched by EB members’ words and recognition, it means everything for me, as well as for the whole administration team, with whom I have been fortunate to work.

“2024 is an unusual year, with several uncertainties added to our challenge, although with quite a complicated personal feeling, I choose to look at it differently and positively. All challenges are accompanied by opportunities, and I see a wonderful future for the sport starting not tomorrow, but today!”


Competition awards

The EB awarded a series competitions for the 2025 and 2026 seasons during its meeting, with one new host – Johannesburg (South Africa). The full list of awarded competitions is as follows:

  • UIPM 2025 Pentathlon and Laser Run World Championships
    • Antalya (Türkiye)
  • UIPM 2025 Pentathlon World Cup Final
    • Alexandria (Egypt)
  • UIPM 2025 Pentathlon World Cup + UIPM 2026 Pentathlon World Cup
    • Cairo (Egypt)
    • Antalya (Türkiye)
    • Budapest (Hungary)
    • Sofia (Bulgaria)
  • UIPM 2025 Pentathlon Junior World Championships
    • Székesfehérvár (Hungary)
  • UIPM 2025 Pentathlon U19 World Championships
    • Druskininkai (Lithuania)
  • UIPM 2025 Pentathlon U17 World Championships
    • Johannesburg (South Africa)
  • UIPM 2025 Tetrathlon U15 World Championships
    • Alexandria (Egypt)

Other matters

The EB covered a wide range of topics during its meeting, including:

  • Discussion on motions to be presented to UIPM 2024 Congress
  • Preparations for UIPM 2024 Congress in Riyadh (KSA)
  • Report about the participation of Individual Neutral Athletes (AIN) during the 2024 season
  • Updates on Obstacle integration
  • Report about final details for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games
  • Preliminary plans for the LA28 Olympic Games.


UIPM Athletes Committee

Athletes taking part in the UIPM 2024 Pentathlon and Laser Run World Championships had the opportunity to vote on candidates for the global position on the UIPM Athletes Committee for the next Olympic cycle.

There were seven eligible candidates for the position and the winner was Samuel Curry of Great Britain.

Curry (GBR) will find out the identify of his fellow AC Members for the 2025-2028 cycle when continental elections take place later this year.


Upcoming events